Testing and Evaluation

The Winston School utilizes various formats for assessment and progress monitoring of students. These assessments vary from informal measures including running records and curriculum-based diagnostic assessments, to formal standardized test assessments such as the Woodcock Johnson Reading Mastery Assessment and the Stanford Ten Achievement Test.

  • The Woodcock Johnson Reading Mastery Test is broken down into six sub-tests.
  • Word Identification - reading words in isolation
  • Word Attack - decoding nonsense words
  • Word Comprehension - antonyms, synonyms and analogies
  • Passage Comprehension - students provide a missing word to complete the meaning of a sentence or sentences
  • Listening - students answer a question based on hearing a passage
  • Fluency - addresses rate and accuracy
Students in grades 1 through 7 typically participate in this test each spring. Using this testing, in conjunction with a child's performance in class, enables teachers to properly set a child’s academic plan for the upcoming year.

In addition, students in grades 6 and 7 take the Stanford Ten Achievement Test. The Tenth Edition of the Stanford battery provides updated content that reflects the national and state standards, curriculum and educational trends of the beginning of the twenty-first century. As with all testing, the results reflect how a student performed at that moment in time. Many factors can influence the outcome of such a test. Winston does not teach to the test in any way, although students are given some prior preparation. Additionally, the sessions are timed, according to the instructions given in the administration directions. The Stanford Ten does provide for extra time to accommodate those students who need that option. Participation in this format of standardized assessment offers useful information to teachers and parents, as well as to provide students with experience in a standardized testing environment.

Dr. Lewis